CACINA

Carry the gospel with you

Posted in christian, Christianity, Eucharist, inspirational, religion, scripture by Mike on June 22, 2014

682fa429cb5d36a96705e4eabcc8753d_w600Gospel reading of the day:

John 6:51-58

Jesus said to the crowds: “I am the living bread that came down from heaven; whoever eats this bread will live forever; and the bread that I will give is my flesh for the life of the world.”

The Jews quarreled among themselves, saying, “How can this man give us his flesh to eat?” Jesus said to them, “Amen, amen, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you do not have life within you. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him on the last day. For my flesh is true food, and my blood is true drink. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood remains in me and I in him. Just as the living Father sent me and I have life because of the Father, so also the one who feeds on me will have life because of me. This is the bread that came down from heaven. Unlike your ancestors who ate and still died, whoever eats this bread will live forever.”

Reflection on the gospel reading: This solemnity of Corpus Christi invites us to reflect on what we do when we celebrate our Eucharist. Jesus’ institution of the Eucharist at the Last Supper was the opening of the entire drama of his suffering, death, and resurrection where the Lord’s body was crushed through his passion and death and transformed into something entirely different, new, and life-giving through his resurrection. In the same way, we take wheat in the field, crush it, and create something entirely new, different, and life-giving, bread, and we take grapes in the vineyards, crush them, and create something entirely new, different, and life-giving, wine. Again, during the Eucharist, the nature of the bread and wine are crushed and transformed so that neither the bread nor the wine are what they were but instead become something entirely new, different, and life-giving. When we celebrate Eucharist, Jesus invites us to become like the wheat, the grapes, the bread, the wine, and himself. Eucharist is an invitation to each of us to let the old person be crushed, annihilated, and transformed into something entirely new, different, and life-giving.

Spiritual reading: The very last thing I want to do is to unsettle in the mind of any Christian, whatever his denomination, the concepts — for him traditional — by which he finds it profitable to represent to himself what is happening when he receives the bread and wine. I could wish that no definitions had ever been felt to be necessary; and, still more, that none had been allowed to make divisions between churches. (C.S. Lewis)

Leave a Reply

