CACINA

Carry the gospel with you

Posted in christian, Christianity, inspirational, religion, scripture by Mike on May 20, 2014

''_Last_Supper_''_

Gospel reading of the day:

John 14:27-31a

Jesus said to his disciples: “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give it to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled or afraid. You heard me tell you, ‘I am going away and I will come back to you.’ If you loved me, you would rejoice that I am going to the Father; for the Father is greater than I. And now I have told you this before it happens, so that when it happens you may believe. I will no longer speak much with you, for the ruler of the world is coming. He has no power over me, but the world must know that I love the Father and that I do just as the Father has commanded me.”

Reflection on the gospel reading: It is hard to let go of people whom we love. The disciples in today’s gospel are downcast at Jesus’ prediction that he is about to die, because it means that the relationship they have with Jesus is about to undergo a profound change. They do not understand the change that is taking place, and everything weighed in the balance, they prefer to let things remain as they have been. Jesus challenges them in their adverse circumstances to consider things anew. If the disciples really love, they are to enlarge their hearts to embrace the good things that are happening to the one they love. Jesus tells them to rejoice at the new things that are unfolding in their lives.

Saint of the day: Jakub Pankiewicz was born in Nagorzanach, Poland, July 9, 1882. He was accepted by the Friars Minor in the Province of the Immaculate Conception in 1900. He made his solemn profession of vows on February 24, 1904, taking the name Anastazy. Anastazy Jakub PankiewiczOrdained a priest in 1906, he was Guardian in various fraternities, built the minor seminary in the industrial city of Lodz and was among the founders of the Congregation of the Sisters of Christ the King Antoniana. Arrested on October 10, 1941, he was interned in Dachau. He died May 20, 1942, during the so-called “transport of the disabled, on the road that leads to the crematorium of Hartheim near Linz in Austria. Preparing himself for death with the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he helped a fellow prisoner on board the car a German soldier violently closed the door of the car cutting both hands. His body was then burned and the ashes were scattered. His body was burned and the ashes were scattered. He was beatified in Warsaw on June 13, 1999 with 107 other Polish martyrs.

Spiritual reading: Vulnerability is the birthplace of innovation, creativity and change. (Brené Brown)

Leave a Reply

