CACINA

Carry the gospel with you

Posted in christian, Christianity, inspirational, religion, scripture by Mike on May 13, 2014

Gospel reading of the day:

John 10:22-30

The feast of the Dedication was taking place in Jerusalem. It was winter. And Jesus walked about in the temple area on the Portico of Solomon. So the Jews gathered around him and said to him, “How long are you going to keep us in suspense? If you are the Christ, tell us plainly.” Jesus answered them, “I told you and you do not believe. The works I do in my Father’s name testify to me. But you do not believe, because you are not among my sheep. My sheep hear my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish. No one can take them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one can take them out of the Father’s hand. The Father and I are one.”

Reflection on the gospel reading: The Feast of the Dedication is Hanukkah, the Festival of Lights. It is the celebration of the re-dedication of the second Temple after the revolt of the Maccabees, which at the time of the gospel passage recounted today was the most recent liberation of the Jewish people from foreign oppression. The gospel tells us that it was winter. Winter, of course, is a time of barrenness, when little grows, and life is hard, and we await the renewal of life in the distant spring.

It was into the world’s winter that Jesus came, but his presence in the world, analogous in a sense to the celebration of the Festival of Lights, was the liberation of his people–not just Israel in the strictest sense but all of us, the whole Church. It his presence in the winter of our lives which lights up our worlds and liberates us from the consequences of sin and death. The gospel tells us we can trust in this, because God is faithful.

Saint of the day: Juliana of Norwich was born in England in about 1342. Almost nothing is known of her early life; we don’t even know if she was from Norwich or chose to move there. She was a recluse under the direction of Benedictine monks in Norwich, England. A mystic, visionary, and writer, she was illiterate and dictated to a scribe. Her book, Revelations of Divine Love, which contains sixteen revelations she received while in an ecstatic trance, is still in print. Juliana meditated, spoke, and wrote on the power of love of evil, Christ’s Passion, and the nature of the Trinity. In her early 60s she shut herself in complete seclusion at Conisford, Norwich, and never left again. She died in about 1423.

Spiritual reading: God, of your goodness give me yourself, for you are enough for me, and I can ask for nothing which is less which can pay you full worship. And if I ask anything which is less, always I am in want; but only in you do I have everything. (Revelations of Divine Love by Dame Juliana of Norwich)

Leave a Reply

