CACINA

Carry the gospel with you

Posted in christian, Christianity, inspirational, religion, scripture by Mike on May 7, 2014

080512Gospel reading of the day:

John 6:35-40

Jesus said to the crowds, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me will never hunger, and whoever believes in me will never thirst. But I told you that although you have seen me, you do not believe. Everything that the Father gives me will come to me, and I will not reject anyone who comes to me, because I came down from heaven not to do my own will but the will of the one who sent me.

And this is the will of the one who sent me, that I should not lose anything of what he gave me, but that I should raise it on the last day. For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who sees the Son and believes in him may have eternal life, and I shall raise him on the last day.”

Reflection on the gospel reading: The world is a broken place, and the horrors and sorrows that have occurred here are not secrets. When we are at our best, they chill our blood. When we are at our worst, they leave us numb. Yet God who is all and knows every slight and every horror still wants all of us to see God “on the last day.” This is the nature of the best love, the love that takes no umbrage at wrongs done and loves despite every harm. As Jesus teaches us in the Sermon on the Mount, the perfection of the Father is the Father’s ability to love so well that the sun shines both on the good and the bad.

Saint of the day: Idalia Salazar López was born on September 29, 1966 in San Roque, Mejicanos, San Salvador . She spent her childhood in a village on the outskirts of San Salvador, called the Fosa. Idalia was born into a very poor family. In the Christian community where she imagesgrew up, she learned that the Gospel is not just words but also life. Her faith community conceived the idea of building a clinic, and Idalia attended a first aid course to work as a nurse. At 15, she was part of a youth group from the parish of Saint Francis. At the same time she prepared to become a catechist. Idalia was a young woman distinguished by the depth of her gospel reflection and her dedication and solidarity with the young and the poor. At the end of a youth group meeting on May 7, q987, she fell into an ambush of the members of the Civil Defense that resulted in a wound to her leg. Once on the ground members of the Civil Defense shot the final blow to Idalia’s face, leaving her body leaning against a tree. Idalia represents thousands of catechist martyrs who witness to the faith as humble servants of the people.

Spiritual reading: When I join in spiritual community, I often can sense that I am stronger. It’s as if the deep listening of others invites ever deeper listening from me. (Leah Rampy)

Leave a Reply

