CACINA

Carry the gospel with you

Posted in christian, Christianity, inspirational, religion, scripture by Mike on May 3, 2014

24v4ok7Gospel reading of the day:

John 14:6-14

Jesus said to Thomas, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you know me, then you will also know my Father. From now on you do know him and have seen him.” Philip said to him, “Master, show us the Father, and that will be enough for us.” Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you for so long a time and you still do not know me, Philip? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words that I speak to you I do not speak on my own. The Father who dwells in me is doing his works. Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father is in me, or else, believe because of the works themselves. Amen, amen, I say to you, whoever believes in me will do the works that I do, and will do greater ones than these, because I am going to the Father. And whatever you ask in my name, I will do, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask anything of me in my name, I will do it.”

Reflection on the gospel reading: Jesus is the face of God turned toward humanity. Jesus is the way–the path–we are invited to walk to come into God’s presence. If we spend time with our resurrected Lord, through reflection on the scriptures and prayer, coming to know Jesus will be coming to know God.

Saint of the day: Rhoel Gallardo was born in the Philippines on Nov. 29, 1965 in Zambales to Dominador and Raquel Gallardo. He made his first religious profession as a Claretian on May 1, 1989. He was ordained on December 8, 1994. The young Filipino priest had hardly six Gallardoyears of priesthood when he was assassinated on May 3, 2000 after suffering cruelly at the hands of captors. He was tortured by plucking out the nails from his hands and feet. His body was found with three bullets in his back.

The Moslem fundamentalists of the Abu Sayyaf group assailed the Claretian School of Tumahubong, in Basilan Island, Southern Philippines, on March 20, 2000, taking as hostage Fr. Rhoel, four teachers, and 22 students. Fr. Gallardo was the director of the school. His captors ordered him to renounce his faith but he refused. Father Gallardo’s steadfastness and his concern for the welfare of his fellow captives irked the Abu Sayyaf. hqdefaultHe was reportedly beaten up by his captors every time he prayed the rosary along with the other male hostages. They were held captive for six weeks. In April 2000, the Abu Sayyaf released some of the hostages after negotiations with the government. But after long negotiations between the rebels on one side and the bishop, Father Provincial of the Claretians, and a Moslem Ulama on the other, they could not come to an agreement: the demands of the fundamentalist group were unacceptable. The Philippine Army was forced to attack the rebel camp in the forest to rescue the hostages. Father Gallardo suffered three gunshot wounds in the head, shoulder, and back, and the nail of his index finger and his toenails were plucked out two or three days before he was shot at close range. They also killed three teachers and five children. A push to canonize Fr. Gallardo commenced in 2005 immediately after the end of the five year waiting period required to start a process.

Spiritual reading: A desire to kneel down sometimes pulses through my body, or rather it is as if my body has been meant and made for the act of kneeling. Sometimes, in moments of deep gratitude, kneeling down becomes an overwhelming urge, head deeply bowed, hands before my face. (Etty Hillesum)

Leave a Reply

